MY LOVE/HATE AFFAIR

Standard

I am beginning to have a love hate relationship with this place! Imagine working in a place where there is a celebration for staff birthday, an mi nah talk jus a likkle gathering mi mean real party! A place where come Christmas, you are given a choice of between ham or turkey, a bottle of rum poyo (aka egg nog)/wine or non-alcoholic wine PLUS an office party with every liquor that you can think of! A place where taxi fare to anywhere in the district is a mere US$3.50, a place where lunch ranges from US$4.00 – US$12.00 (drinks included). A place where you have to switch from heels to flats, as the majority of the thoroughfare is not heels friendly.  A place where you can walk home and where all the supermarkets are Chinese owned BUT people don’t fool around their restaurants too much.

A place where one day a month you get to take a half day from work, a place where you don’t have to sign in a register, a place where people who don’t come at 8 actually stay pass the end of the work day and get there tasks completed without any interference for their supervisor. A place where a visit to the orthodontist is a mere US$88 compared to US$240 or above (in Jamaica). A place where EVERYONE takes lunch at 12 noon lol I am dead serious! Office hours are written as: 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 and 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. A place where there are no fast food chains just maybe like 10 restaurants (if so much) and I saw a pizzeria today but at it was closed so I am not too sure if it’s even operational.

Then there is work, for a place with so few people they sure are politicized, I mean today, today just took the cake; Jamaica suddenly didn’t seem so corrupt. For the first time since I have been here I really felt like this would be pointless, I live in a place where people are so highfalutin; you know, caught up in their titles and position as opposed to doing what it takes to get the job done, a place where everyone know each other so you better be careful of how and to who you speak as God forbid you may be speaking ill of the person’s husband/wife/etc. etc. a place where managers (line/junior/senior) cannot participate in activity unless their CEO the equivalent of our PSs (Permanent Secretary) gives approval for the individual manager to participate in that activity.

Now having gone into the “city” my entire mood changed and I just wanted to go home, to a place that as familiar, despite its flaws. On this route to the “city” we drove pass swamps, water logged roads, through a cemetery, a place that reminded me of May Pen cemetery, a place that reminded me of old Spanish Town, down town, several of inner city communities, I mean even a radio personality on their version of a call in programme indicated that he hoped the funds that they got from the PetroCaribe would someday make the place look like the USA to which a coworker noted that there would be no shanti towns.

How could I forget,  I live in a place where its been a week since I have applied to open a bank account and to this its still hasn’t been opened!  I mean they say every application has to go through their central bank but come one with just less than 400,000 people living here why does it take more than a week to open an account? Bureaucracy or nah?

Bossy did say to wait until I leave to right this blog, but today, today, was just one a dem days so much so I swore I had put my camera in my bag so that I would be able to take pictures BUT as I was driving through the “city” and seeing the places I could not find the camera to take the pics. It wasn’t until I got home I found it, so as far as I’m concerned it may just have been for a reason that I wasn’t able to capture the city in its truest form.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

